Guest Reviews of Apartment Hamlet

Apartment Hamlet
inquire | location | factsFireplace Living RoomRob from Chicago, United States; June 2012:
'The Hamlet was lovely, and we really appreciated the personal service from Erwin. When we arrived, the front room was quite warm and the A/C didn't seem to be functioning. Erwin determined that the A/C unit had to be changed, and within 3-4 hours we had a new A/C unit in: very cool (pardon the pun). Erwin also stepped in when we had a problem with wifi connection. The personal touch made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. We also got to know the neighborhood a bit, and enjoyed a fine dinner in the garden at the Bello Giardino (sp?) at the corner of 71st and Columbus (the meatballs are rated best in NYC, and they were delicious). We also appreciated having the checkin work so smoothly - good system, V. A couple of recommendations: if all you need is basics (milk, eggs, etc), try the Trader Joe's at 71st and Bway. The Fairway at 74th and Bway is much bigger, but we found it pretty expensive and kinda grungy. And while the 4-flight trek up the stairs certainly helped keep us in shape, the privacy and quiet were greatly appreciated - hardly felt like we were in the middle of the Upper West Side of Manhattan. In sum, a terrific experience that I am already recommending to friends.'

M B from Philadelphia, US; June 2012:
'Everything exactly as promised! Husband & I stayed 3 nights for son's graduation celebration. Veronica was very professional and gave us a discount due to last minute arrangements- thank you Veronica! All emailed information was clear; getting key and paying balance went smoothly. (It was pouring the day we arrived, so shlepping luggage on the metro - first to get key, then to get to the apartment - was a hassle, but we were determined to save cab fare.) The apartment: spotless, perfect size for our needs, there was even COLD filtered water for us in the fridge on arrival! TV/Cable, AC worked fine, fresh linens. ONE NEGATIVE - bed was ok, but small for us, and VERY CREAKY - I ended up sleeping on the couch. TWO HUGE ADVANTAGES, right across the street from Central Park and just one short block to subway lines. (Oh, & nice Jewish deli for breakfast and muffin shop 1.5 blocks away)'

Derelynn Kalafer from San Diego, USA; June 2012:
'The apartment couldn't be in a better location-- just half a block from Central Park, it's in our favorite neighborhood for local restaurants and shopping. The subway is steps from the front door and it was a cinch to get to theatre and all the other fun places we love to visit when we're in NYC. Best surprise this visit was the 1/2 mile walk to the HUDSON river park, where we then ran to Battery Park all along the water (about seven miles) and popped onto the subway for a quick return. Trader Joe's is around the corner, as is our favorite coffee store, The Sensuous Bean, Eileen Fisher's, and a great deli/restaurant, Lanskey's. The apartment itself is cute and well-supplied with kitchen hardware, but be aware there isn't the slightest in food prep supplies, not even salt! In contrast to other VRBO's we've stayed in, we also missed extra TP, a powerful enough air-conditioner for easy sleeping (for those of us unaccustomed to the humid heat we encountered), and finally, the five floors REALLY felt like five flights of stairs after walking/running 10-12 miles a day. But the apartment is cute, very clean, and there's a lovely tree that graced both the living room and bedroom windows. We'd stay there again without hesitation as long as the air-co's been upgraded or it's in cooler weather. Organizing our stay, picking up the keys, etc., all were very easily done, with accommodating, helpful communication all along (except maybe a welcome phone call once we checked in and/or some written info about the apartment and neighborhood would have cleared up a couple of questions we had).'

Cynthia Seybolt from Underhill Center VT, United States; May 2012:
'The apartment is just as described and pictured. All essentials are provided, though no kitchen supplies (salt, pepper, oil, etc.). It is comfortable and very quiet. The location is perfect for transportation, Lincoln Center, Central Park, a great variety of restaurants. We'll be back!'

Cynthia Seybolt from Underhill Center VT, United States; May 2012:
'The apartment was comfortable, spacious, and just as shown in photos. Very quiet, good bed, well-equipped kitchen (though no provisions, not even salt & pepper). Location is superb for Central Park, subway, bus, Lincoln Center, restaurants and interesting walks. My husband and I recommend it, and plan to stay there again.'

John and Mary Williams from Wimborne, England; May 2012:
'Our stay in Apartment Hamlet was excellent in every way - amazingly quiet, convenient for Central Park and the buses and subway, and perfectly clean with everything we needed. Supermarkets very close and Broadway in walking distance. We also felt totally safe in the area - we walked back from an Opera at the Met at midnight without any anxiety. Waking up to the birds singing was an extra bonus. We shall hope to visit NYC again and shall plan to stay in Apartment Hamlet. Thank you!'

Tom Mulliniks from Santa Fe, USA; May 2012:
'The location is great. The staff support is also very good. The sleeper sofa was typically uncomfortable and we requested an infatable mattress and it was provided in a timely manner. Also, the we called for operating instruction for the TV and service was provided immediately. The place is small and somewhat old. Because of the great location it worked for us.'

Susan Henke from Duluth, MN, USA; April 2012:
'We LOVED this apartment! Thank you so much! The location was perfect for Lincoln Center performances, close to Central Park and great subway connections close by. It is very quiet and we didn't mind the three flights of stairs. We felt like we were residents of the Upper West Side - a great neighborhood.'

Megan O'Donnell from Parramatta, Australia; January 2012:
'The Hamlet apartment was the perfect apartment to feel like a local and less of a tourist. Its a good size for 2 people and has all the basics with good storage as well. Ideal location on the upper west side, close to transport, the park and places to eat. The only negative to report would be an occasionally noisey radiator. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in the apartment and would happily recommend it. '

John Bailey from Elberton, GA, USA; January 2012:
'The apartment was okey. You do need to make some improvements to make it better. The bathroom needs a large shelf so you would have a place to put your clean and dirty clothes while showering. We brought in a chair in order to do this. Also the bathroom vent does not work. You could hear people talking from other apartments which is spooky when you are in the shower because it sounds like they are in the bathroom with you. You also need a larger coffee maker, and every other apartment we have rented in NYC has supplied filters for the coffee maker. Also you need a new mattress on the bed. Also in the past we have been left either menus from area restaurants or a book with this information (restaurants, sights, etc in the neighborhood). The location is great in that there is a subway stop on the next street and plenty to do within walking distance.'

Michelle Walsh from Denver, CO, United States; December 2011:
'Apartment Hamlet was nice, comfortable and cozy with a great location! '

josh leblang from seattle, United States; November 2011:
'Apartment was so convenient, clean, and affordable compared to hotels nearby. Two thumbs up! we will use it again next time we are in the area.'

Erika A. from El Paso, TX, USA; August 2011:
'Veronica, Thank you so much for the excellent service. The apartment is in a perfect location and very well taken care of. The five flights of stairs were a little overwhelming but we got used to them by the second day. Thanks again. '

Heather Clark from Camrose, Canda; May 2011:
'We found the Hamlet apt to be adequate for our needs. Lots of clean towels for our use, good cooking facilities. Great proximity to the Metro which we took from Upper to Lower Manhattan many times throughout our stay. A great wine store a few blocks, good restarants in the area and close proximity for walks in Central Park. Thank you for a great stay in NYC.'

Patricia PESTEL from BIZANOS, FRANCE; May 2011:
'lovely apartment , clean , very quiet. The bed is comfortable but is noisy. The sofa is better for one person than for 2. It's a pity that the windows cannot be opened.'

gordon hawkins from Scottsdale, Arizona; March 2011:
'the apartment was wonderful and very convenient to lincoln center. having the park nearby was also a nice treat. Having the laundry service on the same street also was a a convenience that was much appreciates. I would stay there again. '

Michael Matera from Buenos Aires, Argentina; February 2011:
'The apartment's location cannot be beat! Even with the heavy snow, we were able to get around, with the B/C subway line just a block away and teh 1/2/3 lines two blocks away. The apartment has everything one needs and is kept very clean by the owners. The building is a bit rough around the edges and needs a little upkeep in the hallways and exterior. The four floor walk-up kept us in good shape! We will stay in the same place when we return to NY someday. '

judith russi from chicago, USA; December 2010:
'Hamlet was well located , quiet with lovely view of garden and well equipped. Although simple, the apartment was comfortable and we appreciated the heating unit during the cold spell. Hallways could use attention but our experience was positive.'

jody snyder from buffalo, us; December 2010:
'the location of thids apartment is great. one block from central park and 1 block from the shopping and restaurants of the upper west side. everything is there for cooking and grocery shopping on broadway is around the corner. The place is clean and comfortable with the exception of the mattress, which was too soft for us.'

Kevin Kidd from Northville,Mi, USA; December 2010:
'Whether you are a 1st time visitor or a frequent one, this is the way to experience NYC. You will feel right at home here and enjoy the city without the stress. What a location. 1/2 block from the Dakota and the subway system. If you are like us and enjoy Central Park and running in the Park, you are just 1/2 block away from heaven. If you go the other way, you won't be disappointed in the restaurants and shops on Columbus and Amsterdam. You can also decide to cuddle up and stay at home with a glass of wine and a romantic dinner. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend to any visitor. My only distraction was that the cleaning people need to take cushions off the chair and clean/vacumn(very dirty) and clean the dust from the air grates(kitchen and bathroom). Loved it.'

Jan Goode from San Diego, USA; September 2010:
'The apartment is in an excellent location - very close to Central Park, close to metro and all you would want to visit. Good restaurants close by. You really feel part of neighborhood. Apartment is great for a couple wanting a pied a terre in this location - all the basic amenties are provided and it is nicely furnished. Note: There a lot of stairs to climb so not suitable for anyone not able to climb stairs. The only issue we had was with key collection and balance payment. This is several blocks away and you need to book a specific time. So if you are arriving from the other side of US (as we were) or any other distant location, and with suitcases, this is not very practical. We also had to carry a lot of money with us to pay balance and would prefer to pay in advance with credit card.'

Diana Gonzalez from Le Vesinet, France; September 2010:
'We had a great stay in your apartment. Thank you so much. I used to live in NY, and this apartment is one of the quietest apartments I have ever been in! The location is of course, one of the best neighborhoods in the City. The building is wonderful and charming. Will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to others.'

Camille Kelley from Manassas, US; August 2010:
'We enjoyed our stay at the Hamlet. The apt was clean, comfortable, charming, and perfectly located for our stay in the city. We could not have been more pleased and hope to be able to stay here again in the coming year. Thanks for everything!'

Nina Korican from Eugene, OR, USA; July 2010:
'This apartment was just perfect for a fun week in NYC for me and my 14 year old niece. Very quiet with no street noise. Good separation of space even though it's small. Light, airy, clean and in a fantastic location. Be sure to bring a cashiers check or cash as the people downstairs hadn't done so and wound up with a big hassle. It would be great if the owners could figure out a way to take credit cards for the full amount especially these days with many on-line card processing options available. '

Catherine O'Grady from Sydney, Australia; July 2010:
'A delightful apartment in an ideal location! Clean, quiet, comfortable and perfectly positioned to provide a truly memorable 'NYC' experience. I hope to return to New York one day and will certainly choose to stay on 71st Street again.'

miriam pinchuk from tel aviv, israel; June 2010:
'we enjoyed the apt. very much . and will come back. '

Danna Parsons from Houston, TX, USA; May 2010:
'We had a wonderful stay in NYC. The apt was in a great location...very quiet and comfortable. The subway was close by and it was great having Central Park just a block away. Veronica was also very helpful and accomodating. Thanks for a great stay.'

Heidi V.L. from Rising Sun, USA; April 2010:
'The Hamlet was great! The location was perfect for us; the apt. was clean, linens nice, pull out bed very comfortable, no complaints at all. Veronica very nice and prompt wiht responses to questions. Looking forward to staying at Apartment Hamlet when we visit next year! Thanks! '

Ginny D. from Berkeley, CA, US; April 2010:
'The Hamlet was a perfect launching point for our New York visit! Be prepared for the 5 floor walk up and creaky floors, on the downside, and for a great location and spacious rooms, on the plus side! I'd stay here again in a New York minute. '

kay nippes from springfield, mo, usa; March 2010:
'The Hamlet was exactly like the picture--cozy, clean and comfortable. A great location, close to Central Park, subway and cabs. It was a great experience. '

Christine from London, GB; November 2009:
'Veronica, I wanted to write and thank you for renting us the apartment for the week. My wife and our two friends thought it was excellent. It was just the right way to see New York and the location was an absolute dream. We really enjoyed the neighborhood and Central Park in particular. Although I live in London and we spend a lot of time here at weekends, New York has a buzz to it which is quite unique! We will want to come again and hope that we can rent your apartment in the future. Many thanks and best wishes'

Jayne Hansen from San Diego, USA; November 2009:
'Dear Veronica, Well, we're back in San Diego, we had a fantastic time in your wonderful city. The accommodations were great, we were very pleased. If you ever need someone to be a reference for you on this apartment, I'd be happy to. You can e-mail me anytime and I can call the person. Thank you for a delightful trip, we were very happy. Sincerely, Jayne Hansen'

NYC ApartmentStatue of LibertyTimes SquareThe Brooklyn BridgeRockefeller CenterCentral ParkEmpire State Building NYCMetropolitan OperaMuseums