Guest Reviews of King Lear Apartment in Center of NYC

King Lear Apartment in Center of NYC
inquire | location | factsLiving Room with FireplacePeggy Ryker from Lexington,KY, USA; June 2012:
'Truly enjoyed our stay. The apt. Was very centrally located in Manhattan and to my joy was 3 or 4 blocks from a Trader Joes and a Duane Reade. Our bed was very comfortable and the wifi worked very well. We were just two blocks from the subway and buses. It was very easy to hail a cab on the corner as well. Our ceiling fan malfunctioned and we called and someone came right away. The owners were very nice people amd I have no complaint. Plan to return when I go to NYC. '

Marilyn Taylor Gerken from Columbus, OH, USA; May 2012:
'The location of the King Lear apartment is wonderful--a safe, quiet street near a beautiful part of Central Park, restaurants,grocery stores, and the subway. It was the perfect space for three of us and very clean. Even though the air conditioner did not work in one bedroom, it did not get too warm. The common space was nicely furnished, although the sofa needs cleaned. It is a very New York experience staying in a turn of the century building amidst the brownstones!'

Mehri Dollard from Austin, TX, US; May 2012:
'My daughters and I had a great time celebrating a birthday in New York. The King Lear was in a great location to Central Park and the subways and within walking distance of museums. I would be happy to stay there again. '

Larry Elsner from Austin, United States; April 2012:
'Overall we were pleased with our stay and would probably stay there again. The location is perfect and the amount of space was ample for the 3 of us. We felt that the place could be spruced up without much effort. There were relatively minor, but annoying problems: the ceiling fan did not work (we reported it to the super but nothing was done), one of the bedroom lamps could only be turned off by unplugging it, etc. A bigger concern was that there was a major electrical problem (lights going out, the breaker box making a sizzling sound) soon after we arrived. It seems unlikely to us that we were the first occupants to experience this (the super seemed to know what we were talking about when we first called him). After a couple of phone calls, he did send an electrician who fixed it promptly on a Sunday morning. (he replaced the faulty breaker and we had no more problems). '

Sandra Block from La Plata, Argentina; March 2012:
'We stayed at the King Lear for a week in January, and we were truly happy with the apartment. The location cannot be better, great neighborhood and extremely convenient to all means of transportation. The accommodation was just as described, and the whole process was smooth and without any glitches. The only thing that we couldn´t find was linen. We highly recommend this apartment, and look forward to coming to NY to stay here again in the future. Thanks!” '

Laura Underwood from Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA; March 2012:
'It was a girl's weekend celebrating our 50th birthdays! We had a wonderful time in your historic and very quiet brownstone. The location is fabulous! West 71st was so peaceful and close to Central Park, subway stations, great neighborhood restaurants, and shopping. The Italian restaurant and Mexican restaurant three doors down were incredible! There was plenty of room in the apartment for the five of us. The beds were comfortable, and there was ample closet space and cabinet space to put our clothes, shoes and jackets up. There was a brocken cabinet in the kitchen that is easily fixed and the linens on the table could be replaced to have an updated look. The bathroom could be updated which would add to the experience.It is important to remember that King Lear is in a historic brownstone. All in all, I would definitely stay here again, and Veronica was a pleasure to work with.'

Christine Jones from Davison, MI, USA; February 2012:
'The King Lear is in a great location. It was very clean. The amenities advertised were all as stated. We would definately do this again.'

Kathy Hanna from Calgary, Canada; January 2012:
'The location was excellent, but there were a few items that need repair... 1. Ceiling light bulb burnt out 2. Window in bedroow does not seal shut, making the room temperature extremely cold for winter visitors. We had to pad the window with pillows to better seal the room. The baseboard heater did not work - extremely cold. 3. Lower kitchen cabinet door hangs open. 4. Paint on tub and shower tile is pealing. 5. Bathroom fan does not work. 6. Bathroom sink tap assembly leaks. We enjoyed our stay in spite of these items - it was the cold that was hardest to work around! We just thought you would appreciate an update on the condition of this apartment. Cheers!'

stuart granoff from topsham, usa; December 2011:
'A very good experience. Veronica was responsive and accommodating. Easy key pick-up. Location is excellent. A typical brownstone apt. which is certainly more interesting than a hotel. Only downside: apt was pretty dark.'

Toni London from Eagle River, Alaska, USA; December 2011:
'The King Lear Apartment was quite comfortable for my husband, my sister and I over the Thanksgiving weekend. The location couldn't be better. Very convenient to subways and just half a block from Central Park. We discovered several good restaurants within easy walking distance. The kitchen was well equiped (now has a cork puller). The upholstery on the couch could use cleaning and the handle on the closet door should be fixed. Also, it was really hot when we checked in. Don't know that there's much to do about that, though. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at King Lear and would stay there again.'

regina portela-all from miami, usa; November 2011:
'Perfect location. Loved feeling of being in a neighborhood. Restaurants close by. Central Park was beautiful and full of color. Apartment is very nice. Bathroom could use some attention. Tile has been painted and is chipping off (white over black - so really shows). But somehow having an old bathroom just makes you feel like a new yorker. It's all good.'

Beth van Gaalen from Coquitlam, BC, Canada; November 2011:
'We enjoyed the apartment as the locations was excellent however, the apartment itself really needs some TLC. The bathroom taps leaked and the kitchen was not fully equipped. The coffee pot was cracked and when I reported it, it was replaced with a miniture coffee maker. Not satisfactory for 4 people. All in all, it was satifactory and I would consider this location in any future visits to New York'

Greta Hickey from Dublin, Ireland; November 2011:
'King Lear apartment is in a great location, close to Central Park, good restaurants, and the subway to get anywhere in Manhattan. The apartment is very clean and had everything we needed. This was our second time renting the apartment and we would certainly consider renting again. Greta.'

Francis GOugh from MIll valley , CA; October 2011:
'We had a wonderful time. The place was really clean and quiet, the beds were comfortable, and their was plenty of room for three of us. Kitchen great and well equipped. The only negative is the tiles is bathroom are reeling, as they were painted over. A little tacky, but other than that, we had a great time. Thank you.'

irene from Michigan, ; October 2011:
'Apt very adequaate for our needs. Neighborhood couldn't have been better. Would have liked an opener for our wine.,'

juli teitelbaum from ashland, USA; September 2011:
'great place - wonderful stay - you could leave some salt and pepper in the house and some better kitchen supplies- the windows and shades and curtains need to be cleaned better - otherwise it was great - juli'

Adolfo Torres from Caracas, Venezuela; September 2011:
'It was a great vacation.Nice apartment great service,nice and convenient location very close to subway,central park,shopping areas.Nice restaurants around. Everything was as promised, Mr. Erwin was a great help. I would not doubt in staying again at King Lear.'

Kelly from Pasadena, TX, USA; July 2011:
'We had a great stay in the King Lear. Very comfortable and easy access to subways. Veronica and Erwin were very nice and helpful. '

Blake Gustafson from Cincinnati, USA; June 2011:
'We Stayed at King Lear for our daughters 21st birthday, the location was wonderful, very close to Central Park and the subway. The apartment was clean and very basic but perfect for our family. In a quiet neighborhood with no noise at night. If your looking for elegance its not the place for you but we loved it'

John Holson from Berkeley, CA; June 2011:
'Very nice place to stay for a week. Had family and friends over as we were in town for graduation. Very comfortable, able to cook in sometimes, take an break from being a tourista, and great location for getting around Manhattan. Excellent choice. Stoop is excellent for people watching... '

Lesley Shanks from Manchester, uk; May 2011:
'FANTASTIC. Apartment was great. Clean, functional, near the subway, the park and various eateries. Was initially worried about being scammed having booked it on the internet from the UK, however was not the case. Would definitely recommend this apartment and would use it again. Really pleased with it. '

will miller from Oakland, USA; April 2011:
'wonderful location, quiet and clean. the beds were super comfortable and apt was really quiet for sleeping. My family & I slept great. The only thing was the fridge kept freezing our vegetables...the fridge may need repair. otherwise loved the place.'

E. Eng from San Francisco, USA; March 2011:
'I can't think of a better location that also offers quiet. Just 1/2 block from the park and the C train, and 3 blocks from line 1. Wonderful neighborhood with everything you need nearby. The apartment itself could use some updating and sprucing up but it was clean and functioned well for my daughter and me. We would stay here again when we return to NYC.'

Michelle Algarin from Laguna Beach, US; March 2011:
'We loved staying here. The apartment is less than a block from Central Park and very close to restaurants on the Upper West Side. We easily took the subway, just a block away to see a Broadway show and a concert at MSG. The street is really cute and lined with Brownstones. The bedrooms have large windows and clean white linens. We'll definitely be staying again. '

Neil Wild from Woollahra, AUSTRALIA; February 2011:
'We had a great time at the apartment. It was tight with the 5 of us including three grown boys. The location works so well. Some more basics in the pantry would be nice, but otherwise no complaints. We will stay again next time in NYC.'

LEIGH ANNE PERILO from MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA; December 2010:
'GREAT SPOT EASY TO TO COMMUNICATE WITH VERONICA AND GREAT HELP WILL USE AGAIN THANKS AGAIN VERONICA LEIGH ANNE'

G from , ; December 2010:
'We had a wonderful stay - so clean and well organised. In a perfect position. We look forward to staying again.'

Greta Hickey from Dublin, Ireland; November 2010:
'Veronica, We had a great week in NYC and found staying in west 72st a great location - close to Central Park, and to many local diners and restaurants. We had so much choice. We were very happy with the accomodation, which suited us and our son very well. We will certainly be back when we are next are to visit NYC. Thank you for assisting in making our holiday an enjoyable one. Regards, Greta. '

JoAnn Houghton from Ashland, OR, USA; October 2010:
'4 travelers from small towns far from NYC thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the King Lear Apartment. The quiet neighborhood, easy access to subway stations, variety of shops and restaurants, good beds, and ample living space made this accommodation the perfect home away from home. We will surely return! '

David and Liz Steele from Melbourne, Australia; October 2010:
'Great apartment in a fabulous location - good food options nearby and corner stores. Apartment was large and roomy and airconditioning worked well. The small kitchen was excellent too'

David and Liz Steele from Melbourne, Australia; September 2010:
'Thanks Veronica and Erwin, with 2 of our kids we had a fantastic 8 days staying in your apartment in New York. It was such a brilliant location and the apartment was clean and comfortable. Thanks very much for emailing us and answering our questions before we arrived in New York. The arrangements worked extremely well;this is always reassuring in a new city!We hope we will return and of course we will recommend your details to others we know who are travelling to the 'Big Apple' Regards, Liz and David Steele'

Margaret B from Boston, US; September 2010:
'We stayed at the King Lear with our three kids (14, 12 and 10) and found its location to be Fantastic. If you are looking to enjoy Central Park, this is the location for you!'

Lynne Pocaterra from Bryan, Texas, USA; June 2010:
'My granddaughter and I spent two weeks in the King Lear in June 2010 and we loved it. The location is perfect. I would have felt safe sending my 15-year-old granddaughter to the corner store alone at nine-o'clock at night (except her mother would kill me). While the bedrooms are a tight fit (no room for a bedside table, although there are reading lamps), I slept great on the beds. The apartment was tastefully furnished and very, very comfortable. I would stay in the Kig Lear again, although I'd probably prefer trying one of Veronica and Erwin's other apartments, just for the fun of seeing them.'

elizabeth from Ann Arbor, Michigan, ; May 2010:
'This apt is lovely, cool,comfy,and convenient, 2 floors up on a quiet side street, just a block from Central Park and very close to the subway. We found it a convenient launching pad for all our activities, and a restful oasis at the end of the day. It was easy to grab a cab, there's a convenience store and couple of great little restaurants just up the street. I felt safe and enjoyed the quiet, homey atmosphere. SO much better than a hotel!! I'd happily return.'

Brenda Nishimoto from Sunnyvale, , USA; March 2010:
'This is our 5th stay at Metro Dwellings and we find it very comfortable, clean and the neighborhood can't be beat. Access to free internet is also a plus. Be sure to eat at local restaurants - where New Yorkers eat!'

NYC ApartmentStatue of LibertyTimes SquareThe Brooklyn BridgeRockefeller CenterCentral ParkEmpire State Building NYCMetropolitan OperaMuseums