Guest Reviews of Poem Apartment in NYC

Poem Apartment in NYC
inquire | location | factsLiving Room with FireplaceUri Zakay from Hofit, Israel; July 2012:
'Dear Veronica. We stay in Poem 4 people for 7 nights. The apartment is in excellent location, quiet St', one block from the two main subway lines, the best place for turist like us. Near good shops for daily food or good restaurants. Our grading for Poem is 8.5 of 10. To have 10 grading replce the airconditins in both rooms, they work properly but are a litle beat noisy and the mattress in the sleeping room is good but grating. If we shall come again to new york we shall try to stay again in Poem. Sincerely, Uri Zakay. '

Lynn from Portland., Oregon, USA; June 2012:
'Outstanding location, comfortable, and clean. The building is a bit run down and the windows in the apartment need work. But overall the incredible location makes up for everything.'

Seonaid Andrews from Coquitlam, Canada; June 2012:
'Wonderful location. Great vacation rental, suitable for families. I especially enjoyed feeling as if I were a part of the Upper West Side community - so much more like home than most hotels.'

Yao Cheng from Dallas, TX, US; June 2012:
'Great location, friendly and quick help.'

Fotios Burtzos from Colorado Springs, USA; April 2012:
'My wife and I really enjoyed our recent Upper West Side stay at The Poem. The original woodwork in the halls and stairwell gave the building a look of elegance from a different era. Our apartment was perfect for the two of us, and we could have guests over comfortably as well. Veronica was very easy to communicate with, and all my questions were answered promptly. The pick up of the keys, and dropping off the payment was easy. The hair dryer in the unit needed as new heating element, but that's easily replaced. It was great to have Central Park a half block away to one side of the Poem, and a wonderful Italian Restaurant that won the five borough meatball championship in 2009 a half block to the other side.'

Dorn Peter from Mainz, Germany; March 2012:
'Unser erster Aufenthalt im App. 4F war ein voller Erfolg. Wir hatten die Annehmlichkeiten die wir brauchten und haben nichts vermisst. Das App. war gemütlich, schön warm und wenn es sein mußte war die Klimaanlage im Einsatz. Die Lage des App. war sehr angenehm nur wenige Schritte bis zum Park und zur U-Bahn-Station. Wir werden immer wieder bei einem NY-Besuch dort wohnen wollen. Peter und Waltraud aus Mainz'

Julie Putchinski from Delafield, Wisconsin, USA; March 2012:
'The apartment was GREAT! The neighborhood is so charming and we walked to restaurants and shops so easily. I look forward to staying with Veronica and at this apartment(or some of the others available) during all my visits to N.Y. Just LOVE it!! '

Martie McLeaN from Ocala, FL, USA; February 2012:
'Great location! Quiet and convenient. The 3rd story walk up is good for you! We will return and stay there again. '

ehud shapira from TEL AVIV, ISRAEL; January 2012:
'SUPBERB LOCATION,NICE &NEAT APPARTMENT.CLEAN WITH ENOUGH LINEN AND DISHES.3RD FLIGHT GOOD FOR EXERCISES AND THE CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEM.WE LOVED IT VERY MUCH'

Konstantin Krienke from Munich, Germany; December 2011:
'Overall, a great apt. in a great location. Only downsides from my perspective: Bad condition of the windows and the bathroom could also be nicer.'

Valerie Miller from Berkeley, Ca, USA; October 2011:
'We found everything we needed at The Poem. We would strongly urge the owner to replace the sofa bed that was very lumpy uneven with a very thin pad instead of a mattress. The other bed in the bedroom was fine. Thank you we also loved 71st street.'

Scott Bray from Paris, France; October 2011:
'Overall, a good place and I would recommend it. A few problems: 1.The bed in the bedroom was terrible. any movement caused a lot of disruptive noise. We even lifted the mattress up to try to figure out if it was something we could fix, but it's all one big unit of crappy workmanship i guess... 2. the lock on the front door is questionable - a couple of times we thought we were locked out but eventually barged the door open (literally one time). maybe was the weather swelling the door, or just the lock. 3. would love to have opened a window. after a week of really humid weather, the air con was good to cool down, but after that we just wanted some fresh air. arriving back to the apartment after a day out was not a pleasant smell... but, some good things: 1. great location - very easy to walk to lots of places and a few subway lines just round the corner. 2. the apartment felt bigger than the photos seemed to suggest so we were pleasantly surprised. 3. i'm always impressed when places like this include a coffee machine. 4. the sofa bed was very comfortable and the rest of the furniture good.'

Kate Magruder from Ukiah, CA, USA; September 2011:
'My stay at The Poem was all that I'd hoped for: a lovely neighborhood and a classic old brownstone lovingly cared for. The Poem itself was clean and filled with light - comfy accommodations - even the fold-out couch in the living room was sleepable. Tiny kitchen but had everything we needed. The walk up to the fourth floor offered daily aerobic exercise but I wouldn't want to do it everyday with a lot of groceries. I had questions during my stay and Veronica (my Poem contact) was always available and cheerfully helpful. A great alternative to a hotel stay. '

Kelvin and Joan Booty from Walnut Creek CA, USA; September 2011:
'We really enjoyed our stay at the Poem. The apartment is clean, well-furnished, and the bathroom looks like it was recently remodeled. Very satisfactory in every way. This is a great location: fairly quiet street, but close to everything on the Upper West Side. Highly recommended.'

Arthur Pugsley from Sydney, Australia; September 2011:
'The apartment is in a great location close to the subway. The area is very safe and is a good mix of tourists and locals. The apartment is clean and provides a good platform to access downtown and all local sights. The only issue I have is the bed base is very noisy when you turn over in bed and if this was fixed it would ensure a good nights sleep.'

Dawn Wagner Wagner from Houston, USA; August 2011:
'Great location. Nice quiet neighborhood. Close to 2 Metro's and plenty of restaurants. '

Peter Edelbroek from Leiden, The Netherlands; August 2011:
'We have stayed with our two daughters of 17 and 21 years old in the Poem during two weeks in July 2011. It was a very pleasant appartment in a quiet street near to Metro stations and different good restaurants in the Columbus Street. The Poem is a perfect place as a starting point to explore highlights of Manhattan. We have enjoyed New York very much and had a fine stay in the Poem. It was very pleasant to have adequate airconditioning in both rooms during a period of high temperature outside. Our suggestion for improvement is in cases of a two weeks stay to offer after one week an interim cleaning of the appartment and clean towels as a standard service without additional costs .'

Elena Sand from Atlanta, USA; July 2011:
'This apartment was great. My family of four stayed there for 5 days and we enjoyed it a lot. The location is fantastic! (central park across the street, subway station close by, great restaurants for every budget) The only drawback is that the WIFI was slow but I still will recommend it to a friend! http://planandplay1.blogspot.com/'

Tricia P123456tp@comcast.net from Pittsburgh, USA; July 2011:
'This was my first trip to NYC. I loved the location, only 1 block to Central Park and restaurants. We were worried about parking but were able to get on street parking for the 4 days we were there. We did not move our car. Because it was a holiday weekend, we did not have to deal with moving our car for street cleaning. The apartment was clean but I was disappointed that there were not enough sheets for the beds (no top sheets). Unlike hotels, soap and other toiletries are not provided, so bring your own. I would recommend this apartment, only if you don't mind climbing steps to the 4th floor. I Love NY!'

anne carrier from toulouse, france; May 2011:
'Tres près de Central Park, trés jolie rue, on entendait les oiseaux le matin. Appartement propre, bonne literie, équipement un peu vieillot mais serviettes de toilettes en quantité. Tout est fidèle à le description. Une bonne adresse et une organisation est parfaite avant pendant et aprés : accueil, garde des bagages le dernier jour... On aurait juste apprécié une bouteille d'eau à notre arrivée tard dans la soirée'

carol krauthamer from Sonoma, USA; May 2011:
'The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly: Good location, quiet street,safe, Lansky's at the corner, Subway access is superb Bad mattress. I never had a noisy mattress before. No welcome, no essentials in the kitchen, like salt or a little bit of coffee to get one started... nothing. No top sheet, and not supplied when we requested it. Floors & windows in poor repair. Ugly decor... reminds me of dorm room furniture + thrift store wall art + a bit of IKEA. Of the NYC vacation rentals I have had, The Poem had the poorest price to value ratio. '

Julie Nicholson from New York, United States; April 2011:
'good in a basic way. It was clean, pretty quiet, simple and clean. Windows were difficult to use. The one in the bedroom stuck badly and required standing up on the bed to obtain enough leverage. The one in the living room required screwing and unscrewing. People smoked regularly on the front stoop and the smoke drifted directly into the bedroom. Wished the light in the bedroom could have been on a dimmer. some instruction sheet, restaurant recommendations, would have been nice. '

Janet Andrews from Coquitlam, Canada; April 2011:
'A charming place: wonderful to have a kitchen and a separate bedroom with comfortable bed. Great location near Central Park and not far from Lincoln Center. Management well-organized and helpful. (Thank you Veronica) Some window and bathroom floor upgrades would improve the overall impression; otherwise, comfortable, clean, convenient.'

Graham Sunderland from Huntly, Scotland; February 2011:
'We stayed at this Apartment last January and were very pleased with the Apartment and the arrangements on our arrival to collect the key etc etc. The actual apartment is very well equipped and even has cooking facilities. The location is excellent being within easy walking distance of both Central Park and most of Manhatten and we have no hesitation in recommending this Apartment and Veronica who was very helpful and efficient.'

Graham Sunderland from Huntly, Scotland; February 2011:
'We stayed at this Apartment last January and were very pleased with the Apartment and the arrangements on our arrival to collect the key etc etc. The actual apartment is very well equipped and even has cooking facilities. The location is excellent being within easy walking distance of both Central Park and most of Manhatten and we have no hesitation in recommending this Apartment and Veronica who was very helpful and efficient.'

Ilene Grossman from Oakland, CA; February 2011:
'We had a wonderful stay at the apartment. The location was terrific. The pictures on the internet were totally accurate as to what the apartment actually looks like. It was extremely clean ! All aspects of check in and check out went exactlty as described. Veronica was so helpful in making changes due to weather delays. She was responsive to all my e-mails in a very timely manner. There is no question that we would stay there again. Great trip!'

nat chua from , SG; January 2011:
'We (family of four) had an overall pleasant stay in the apartment. The location is truly hard to beat. The bed was comfortable and Veronica was very easy to deal with. The toilet clogged up one night and she sent someone to fix it within a couple of hours. On the negative side, the bathtub was old and chipping.'

Alex Macleod from Edinburgh, Scotland; December 2010:
'A week in New York is nice, a week in New York in The Poem is even nicer! It is great to stay in your own private apartment and The Poem offers you the chance to stay in a comfortable and safe environment, right in the heart of the Upper West Side. It is perfecty located to give you access to the city and its sights. Although small, the apartment is a lot larger than most hotel rooms of equal value and having the freedom to come and go as you please, cook or eat in or even just lounge in comfort in front of the TV for an hour or two after spending the day sightseeing is fantastic. Arrangements for collecting the keys (having to collect from a different location on arrival) seemed suspicious at first but worked perfectly and being able to safely store our cases on the last day in the building was an absolute God send! A huge thanks to everyone at Metro Dewllings for their good and clear communication and for providing such excellent and useful arrival information. I hope anyone who chooses to stay here enjoys it as much as we did and we couldn't recommend it more highly! '

Susan Thilo from Hayden, Idaho, USA; December 2010:
'We enjoyed the apartment, and the pictures accurately portrayed what we found. The location was good for our purposes, and we did not mind the 3 flights of stairs. The place was reasonably clean, and we considered the price affordable for 2 couples.'

James Harrison from Rochester, NY, US; December 2010:
'Great apartment convenient to everything we wanted to do. Thanks!'

Jonathan Aman from Nashville, TN, USA; November 2010:
'This place is perfect. The location couldn't be better, and it is just as described on their site! The staff emails you detailed instructions before our arrival which really make things easy for you. Next time I go to NYC, I am checking the availability for The Poem before anything else!'

Vicki Resnick from Shaker Heights, USA; November 2010:
'Location is wonderful, quiet street and in walking distance of good restaurants and grocery stores, Central Park and The Museum of Natural History. Housekeeping supplies are not complete, i.e. minimal number of plates and silverware, very few cooking utensils, no salt and pepper or spices. Apartment is not owner occupied. Bed is very comfortable but because bedroom is so small, it is difficult to get into the bed and there is no room for night tables next to the bed.'

Amy C from Chicago, USA; November 2010:
'We loved our stay at the Poem! Excellent Upperwestside location that is central to all attractions. A half block to Central Park, 2 blocks to the 1,2,3 train(which can get you all over the city!)Many eating options on Columbus and Amsterdam. Tenzen, Magnolia Bakery, AMC Lowes theater,The Apple Store,Gray's Papaya,and so much more-all a short walk away!The Poem is easily twice the size of most NYC hotel rooms. A great place to relax after a long day of running around the city. The kitchen is great to have as an option, in case you want to eat in or do take out. We loved this place! '

Margaret Rixham from Charlotte, usa; October 2010:
'Fabulous location, a short walk to Central Park and subway station. Quiet block and building. I'd definitely stay there again.'

Vagner Andrade from São Paulo, Brazil; September 2010:
'Highly Recommended! Good place to stay an well located. Near everything you might need during your stay out home. The lowlight is about the absence of elevators. You have to go 3 floors by stairs only. '

Karen Myers from Huntington Beach, USA; August 2010:
'We stayed at the Poem and had a wonderful New York trip. The location couldn't be better! One block from Central Park and the subway, one block from great eats and markets. Walking distance to the Lincoln Center, Natural History Museum, Columbus Circle... what more could you want? '

Cheryl O'Sullivan from Melbourne, Australia; July 2010:
'Wow!! Location was fantastic. We had a blast and really appreciated coming home to our very own New York apartment. Quiet, close to Central Park and the 72nd Subway station. Great places to eat and generally felt a part of it. Thanks for easy transition too.. '

Robert Pronk from Calgary, Canada; July 2010:
'Review of Poem: The Poem suite is located in a historic brownstone half a block from Central Park on the Upper West side. The neighborhood is charming with numerous ammenities nearby on Columbus (grocery, restaurant, drug stores, shops, etc). The fact that you can access Central Park and a subway station in less than a five minute walk is a real plus. Be aware: parking may be in very short supply near the apartment building simply due to the number of home-owners and a hotel that share the street with you. The brownstone building in which Poem is located is well preserved in general, but be aware that you will be walking three flights of stairs to reach the Poem suite. There is no elevator. On a hot humid day the stair climb can be pretty tiring. The suite itself was in good condition (not excellent condition) and satisfactorily clean. Unfortunately, we were continually disturbed by people walking/stomping above us and by people talking in the bathroom on the other side of the wall to our bathroom. The noise upstairs went on quite late at night and there were no instructions for whom to call to complain to. Also, we had no interaction with the rental representative while we were staying in the suite. We paid someone at another building, picked up keys and moved into Poem. There wasn't much in the way of coffee cups or glassware so you may want to bring your own. The air conditioning and TV worked well. The internet connection is borrowed from the Hotel next door. My computer got a crippling virus within 24 hours. The most important thing to remember is that you are staying in a period apartment which is very charming, but may not be for everyone. '

NYC ApartmentStatue of LibertyTimes SquareThe Brooklyn BridgeRockefeller CenterCentral ParkEmpire State Building NYCMetropolitan OperaMuseums