Guest Reviews of Studio Essex in New York

Studio Essex in New York
inquire | location | factsLiving BedroomRoxy & Nick from Athens, GA, US; June 2012:
'This is a great place to stay! It's very convienient to the subway and Central Park. It's the perfect size for two people and much better than a hotel. We will definitely be back!'

Mike Burnett from Bradenton Fl., USA; June 2012:
'This was a very nice place. Even more than I expected. My wife and I were here for a week and this place suited use perfect. Great location. Within walking distance of everything you need. Right next to Central Park. I felt safe and secure. If I were to ever go back I would more than likely try to stay in this same place. I would recommened this to other people.'

Martha Funke from Kingsport, TN; May 2012:
'This studio is in an awesome Upper West Side location. It was very clean and except for the amount of light, just as pictured. In my opinion it could use more light. It is relatively quiet- except we had a dumpster and a lot of construction noise the first morning. I love the amount of space, safety and location, location, location!'

Erin Young from Andover, MN, USA; March 2012:
'The Studio Essex was in a perfect location ~ We were able to enjoy Central Park every day. We are a family of four (girls 10 &12) so the apartment was ideal with a kitchen so we could have breakfast at home and be on our way. Also, there are a variety of restaurants, shops and ice cream all within blocks. The apartment was clean and the arrangements for picking up keys & getting into the place was very easy. Our only down side was the bed and pull out couch mattresses were very uncomfortable making it difficult for a good nights sleep. '

Daniel Azarian from Aix en Provence, FRANCE; March 2012:
'Hi all, We went to NYC in March 2012 and spent 7 wonderful days staying in Essex Studio. From picking up the keys to the end of our trip, it was just great. The apartment is very well located, close to the Museum of Natural History, MET opera (Lincoln center), and MET museum going through Central Park. Several subway stations are very close to the apartment too. We were 2 and the apartment is just perfect for a couple. In a very typical house, this place is lovely decorated and makes us feel as real New Yorkers or even in a Woody Allen movie :). the bed headboard was a little bit rickety, but didn't bother us at all. We can only recommend this place to anyone who would like to spend a very nice moment in NYC, play to be real New Yorkers, and be independent. '

C Field from Skokie, USA; March 2012:
'The Upper West side near Central Park is a marvelous location to stay in NYC - and the Essex is on a relatively quiet street of brownstone apartments. The apt. is really spacious for a studio, and the bed is very comfortable. All the amenities are there - wifi, TV, full kitchen. The only problems were the overheating, which we couldn't control, and Veronica had that taken care of the next day; the broken coffeepot, which Veronica had replaced the next day; and a primitive showerhead. It's all a bit makeshift, and seems to be in process of renovation, but all in all we were quite satisfied with its comforts and certainly location!'

Raymond Roberts from San Francisco, USA; December 2011:
'Cozy and very quiet. It's a 15 minute walk to Lincoln Center and Central Park is a block away. A short walk up Broadway for grocery shopping at Zabar's or wine at the Beacon Liquor store. Close to two subway stations. Studio Essex is a real find if you want to live like a New Yorker during your city visit.'

Mike Turaski from Portland, USA; December 2011:
'The apartment is in a great location for walking through Central Park, and it was nice to be in a residential neighborhood. One minor issue: the tub did not drain well so water backed up even during brief showers. Yuck.'

Jennifer Warren from Edwardsville, USA; November 2011:
'This studio was in an amazing location-1 block from Central Park and 2 blocks from the subway. Would absolutely stay here again. Studio was clean, bed was comfortable and it was great to have access to a refrigerator, dishwasher, etc. My only comment would be that the bathroom is tiny and there isn't much space to get ready. Otherwise, great spot!'

Debbie Swoboda from Spokane, USA; October 2011:
'This was the perfect little studio for our family's stay in New York. The location was lovely, the studio apartment was super clean and provided everything we needed. We did get a little chilly at night and would have appreciated a blanket for the beds.'

Mary M. from Winnipeg, Canada; October 2011:
'The flat was just as pictured and comfortable for our stay in NYC. It's ideally located a half block from Central Park and the subway station. Good restaurants nearby and accessible to all our destinations. Would gladly stay at the Essex in the future when we come back to see more of beautiful New York.'

Evan Osborne from Albany, USA; September 2011:
'This apartment was perfect for our trip. The right location and reasonable price made this studio an excellent choice for our vacation in Manhattan. We will definitely look for this studio again when we return to the Big City.'

Mary Bartolucci from St john, US Virgin Islands; August 2011:
'the apartment is in a good location easy walk to the park, whole foods is about 10 min walk- very nice condition and a good value for NYC thank you!'

Linn Maund from Toronto, Canada; August 2011:
'Great location & comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. So much better than being stuck in a hotel room. Lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby & central to subway for quick trips to downtown. I highly recommend this neighbourhood for family travel. A very easy walk to the park for those with young ones.'

Glenn Scheiner from Lake Worth, USA; July 2011:
'Great place to stay while visiting New York City. Fabulous location on the Upper West Side, near restaurants and shops. The unit was very clean and in excellent condition. The rental process was easy. Overall a very good experience. Thank you so much!'

Annette Galinski from Livermore,CA, USA; June 2011:
'Veronica, My husband and I absolutely loved our stay in the Essex apartment this month. We like the location due to its proximity to Central Park and local shopping and restaurants. We are familiar with that part of the city and the apartment is very cozy. We are planning our next trip to NYC in December and will be staying there again.'

Julie Putchinsi from Delafield WI, USA; May 2011:
'This apt was GREAT! Just the right amount of space for the two of us. Awesome location, we felt like we were part of the neighborhood. Everything was handled smoothly and was just as promised. We cannot wait to return again. Thank you so much for everything!!'

Alexandra from NY, USA; May 2011:
'Merci pour ce séjour très agréable! le studio est très bien, spacieux, propre, avec tout ce qu'il faut (lave vaisselle, frigo, gazinière,couverts, linge de maison - torchons, serviettes de bains etc..). L'appartement est idéalement situé, 100 m à descendre et on est à Central Park, quartier super. Appartement calme. Dommage qu'il soit en basement mais la lumière rentre bien. La porte d'entrée est dure ça peu surprendre au début! Possibilité de consulter ses mails à l'hotel à côté de l'appartement et d'imprimer son boarding pass, pratique! A louer si vous êtes en couple c'est parfait!Notre semaine en mai était super. je recommande grandement!'

Tim Gahagan from Sonoma, Ca, US; May 2011:
'What a great upper west side location for our stay! A couple hundred feet from Central Park, subway Blue and Orange line right around the corner, all night pizza place down the street, very nice cafe's and restaurants... The neighborhood is relatively quiet for manhattan, great change of pace from midtown and downtown. Smokers on the stoop outside were a bit of an annoyance and I was unable to access the wi-fi for a couple days, but other than that the apartment was perfect for my wife and I. We'd stay here again if and when we come back to visit manhattan.'

Sheila Stavro from Guelph, Canada; May 2011:
'Hi Veronica, Thanks for accommodating us at the Windsor/Essex apartments. They are ideally located to Central Park and many other interesting attractions i.e. Museum of Natural History, Opera House, etc. We would certainly recommend them. Again, thanks. Sheila Stavro'

christian jahier from orvault, france; April 2011:
'Very well placed and very quiet apartment; comfortable and pleasant; we crossed(spent) a very good stay on NY; We shall recommend him(it) very gladly; '

Danyelle from Florida, USA; March 2011:
'Enjoyed our stay. This studio has everything you need to make your vacation special. The location is excellent, only a block from Central Park. '

Sylvain Labbé from Montreal, Canada; February 2011:
'We stayed 8 nights and we had a wonderful vacation in NYC! The apartment location is just great! The bathroom renovation is minimalist but it work out all right!The bath tub does not work properly.Shower is great! The kitchen is good just need a few more plates and cutlery so you do not have to run the dishwasher so often. The bed is comfortable and the street noises for NYC very quiet plus a nice bonus the birds singing in the morning! Being close to Central Park gives you that contrast of big city and the country sides!! '

Marvin from San Francisco, ; January 2011:
'Great location, clean, well-serviced building. All I could ask for at the price. I'll be back! Marvin'

Rachel Gatward from Hertfordshire, UK; January 2011:
'We stayed over Christmas and New year and absoultely loved it!!!. The apartment was clean and adequate for our stay. The location was fantastic and Central Park only a 2 min walk away. I am glad Veronica met us at the appartment and overall I would 100% recommend it. - A trendy studio.'

Betty Anderson from Boulder, Colorado, US; December 2010:
'The studio apartment matched the on line pictures and we were well pleased with the unit. It was clean with the necessary appliances. We were surprised that the street outside was so quiet. After all we were in NYC. A shelf in the bathroom would be a help to hold the various toiletries you have while traveling.'

Betty Anderson from Boulder, Colorado, US; December 2010:
'We loved staying at Studio Essex. It met our needs as to convenience of location, variety of restaurants in the area and proximity to the subway. It was a cold week when we were in NYC so we were glad to have the space heater - otherwise we would have been cold in the apartment.'

Annette Galinski from Livermore, CA, USA; November 2010:
'Loved the Essex studio apartment. It was close to Central Park and Trader Joe's and within walking distance to many shops and the subway. Apartment was clean and felt just like home. Would recommed it to anyone traveling to NYC.'

Emily Leider from San Francisco, CA, USA; October 2010:
'We were very comfortable in the cozy, quiet and well-equipped apartment in a convenient upper west side location. We love the neighborhood's liveliness, access to good transportation and good food.'

RACHAEL ROBERTS from MONTREAL, CANADA; August 2010:
'I really loved staying at this cute apartment, so centrally located and easy to get around. Everything you needed was steps away. It felt safe and quiet, and when recently staying there for 7 days, I soon felt like a local. I would definitely stay again, I would not consider staying in a hotel again. It was a great experience, so thank you and I will see you again in the very near future. Thanks Rachael'

helen byce from Greenville, SC; July 2010:
'My husband and I had a great time in The Poem and our kids (ages 2 and 4) loved the big city experience of our walk-up. Thanks for helping us to provide our kids with a great home base, a comfortable environment when we nneded a rest and a super close subway stop for all of our outings. We will definitely call you again the next time we come to the city - the location and price are right!'

Johannes C. from Vienna, Austria; July 2010:
'We stayed there for 8 nights and enjoyed the area and the studio a lot.'

Lipton Thomas from Syracuse, NY, USA; July 2010:
'My German friends from the foothills of the Bavarian Alps were very pleased with the Essex Studio accommodations. Location was excellent and all advertised items in place. Plumbing glitch was promptly repaired, and in all they were satisfied. I would recommend this to others gladly. Best, Tom Lipton on behalf of Karin 6 Herbert Siedel, Marktoberdorf, Bavaria, Germany'

agustin arias from mar del plata, argentina; July 2010:
'Es el tercer ano que nos alojamos en estos departamentos. son muy confortables y tienen todo lo necesario para unas Quiero destacar lo particularmente silencioso que es el condominio y mas aun lo es el barrio. Siempre que termina nuestra estancia nos nace el deseo de poder volver el proximo a;o. agustin '

Irene Raitzin from Bariloche, Argentina; July 2010:
'Wonderful! that's the word that comes to my mind after spending a glorious week at the Essex Studio. I was there with my youngest daughter and we loved everything: from the very comfortable bed and pillows to the power of the water in our shower. We loved the neighbourhood too: summer nights with people dining in every restaurant's sidewalk. Great atmposphere and the Central Park just half a block away. Thanks Veronica for your help in every aspect. I'm already planning to be back as soon as I can.'

David Preskill from San Diego, United States; June 2010:
'A cozy and quiet studio in a great location. Lots of closet space if you plan a longer stay. A couple of minor problems (a burned out light in the kitchen, a minor electrical issue with the dishwasher) were quickly fixed with a single phone call. Check in and out were both very easy and uncomplicated. We had a great time and will recommend this apartment to others.'

Marlene from Santa Cruz, USA; May 2010:
'I stayed five nights in May in the Essex Studio and really enjoyed my time there. The location is excellent; many bakeries and cafes and restaurants within a few blocks made it easy to find meals without consulting the internet (the wireless connection was much appreciated). I arrived on a red-eye flight and was able to check in fairly early in the day which allowed for a nap before stocking up on groceries, and then I was on my way. The kitchen was well equipped; the bed comfortable, the air conditioner adequate for the room size, and once I figured out the antique tub drain, the bathroom easily met all my needs. The security system worked well and I felt safe. No complaints!'

MARKOWICZ MARYLINE from Vichy, France; April 2010:
'Chere Veronica Notre séjour à New york s'est tres bien passé. NY EST UNE VILLE FORMIDABLE! Vos services ont ete parfait: appartement tres bien situé (50 m du metro ET de Central Park, épicerie à 100 m, 10 mn de Times Square en métro), quartier tres calme et pas d insécurité, tres bonne literie ( lorsque nos sommes arrivés le canapé lit était cassé,le jour même vous nous avez apporté un matelas gonflable, le lendemeain un canapé lit neuf! un gran merci!), tous les appareils en fonctionnement...Nous faisons parti de ces francais bloqués à cause du volcan islandais. Nous avons pu gardé une nuit de plus notre appartement. la deuxieme nuit, vous nous avez loué Le king Lear( appart pour 6 pers) au même tarif que le notre(pour 3 pers). Vous ne nous avez pas laissé tomber . Je recommande vivement vos services. M ERCI POUR TOUT '

NYC ApartmentStatue of LibertyTimes SquareThe Brooklyn BridgeRockefeller CenterCentral ParkEmpire State Building NYCMetropolitan OperaMuseums