Guest Reviews of Victorian 1BR Apartment Upper West Side

Victorian 1BR Apartment Upper West Side
inquire | location | factsLiving Room with Antique FireplaceRobyn Chambers from Brisbane, Australia; June 2014:
'The position of the apartment was well situated for us. It had everything we needed as we were only there to sleep. The bedroom was a little hot at times but a fan was provided. The only negatives would be the bed was not as comfortable as we would have liked & the floors creaked badly. My husband is of solid frame & found the bathroom a little small. Being on the first floor was an easy walk up. Miriam was very obliging & checked in with us to see how things were going. She was very prompt in having the TV followed up on when it stopped working. Unfortunately it still didn't work for our stay but we were there so little it wasn't a great concern. We spent most of our time at our son's apartment a few blocks away.'

John Mooney from Derby, England; May 2014:
'Visited relatives in New York and found the location of the apartment suited our requirements being 5 minutes walk to the Metro or Central Park, and around 10 minutes to the Lincoln Centre. The apartment itself was comfortable and the facilities as advertised.However, we did feel that the rental charge was possibly a little too high compared to other apartments we had considered, but we would recommend it to anyone who needs to be in that area of NY. The close proximity of a Levain's bakery just down the street would be a good excuse to return. '

John Mooney from Derby, England; May 2014:
''

Shirley Chan from North Vancouver, Canada; March 2014:
'This was a great place to rent for our visit to New York. Very convenient to subways and stores! The beds were very comfortable! We noticed the apartment could use some further cleaning and dusting especially along all the perimeter of each room. The floors need a thorough washing, not just sweeping. We did not wear shoes in the apartment and noticed the dirt. A few more towels and dish clothes would be handy also. We didn't have hot water the first 2 days, but after that there was no problem at all. Mariam was wonderful to deal with and we would love to rent this apartment again.'

George Lara from Boise, United States; December 2013:
'We stayed at the Victorian Apt between Thanksgiving and Christmas for eight nights. The location is awesome, close to Central Park, Fairway & Zabars as well as the subway lines. Levain Bakery is right down the street (I think thats a good thing?) The apartment is small but has everything you might need and is very comfortable. The heat was a little spotty but there is a space heater that works well. It may be a little pricy for the size compared to others where we have stayed previously.'

luis losada from San francisco, ; October 2013:
'We have stayed in one of Michael's and Cristina's apartments on one of our previous visits and ,as expected, they again provided us with an excellent place to stay. Noteworthy were the superb location, especially if you like to cook, and the quiet of the apartment. We will rent from them again.'

bruno duvialard from Tours, France; August 2013:
'The location of this apartement is ideal! the neighborhood is very nice,we are close to central park, to the subway and to the main museum : MET, Frick, MoMA... The apartement is very confortable and well appointed. Such a good week of vacation in NY! We'll come back sooner or later'

Anne-Marie Link from Edmonton, Canada; June 2013:
'We spent a week at this very nice apartment in a great location with lots of restaurants and shops, and close to the subway. Also an easy walk to Central Park. Even though in a busy area, the apartment was quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. We enjoyed making our breakfasts in the kitchen--clean and with all required utensils etc. Booking service was very fast and efficient as was the damage deposit refund. Everything was great and I would recommend this place to anyone. One tiny quibble is that it would have been very useful to have 2 sets of keys, as my husband and I were often out separately, leaving one of us with no access until the other one got back.'

Carol Heatley from White Rock, Canada; June 2013:
'Our family has stayed in this part of town several times and always enjoy the area for it's convenience, near transportation, stores, etc. The apartment is as described, clean, well-furnished in a quiet building. Street noise was not a problem. Our only complaint (and to be fair - the apartment is not really advertised for 4) is that it was a little lacking in a few basic supplies. For example, 1 roll of toilet paper and 1 bar of soap for the week. Once we supplied our own, life was fine!'

Florent from Paris, France; February 2013:
'We stayed for one week. It's a very nice appartment, conveniently located, and clean. Central Park next door, 2 streets from the subway, right next to food stores.'

Leah Hausman from London, United Kingdom; January 2013:
'This is my second stay in the Victorian Apt. It was just as lovely as last time. Beautiful atmosphere, very comfortable bed and an adequate kitchen. Although If you like to cook, it can be challenging! Shopping for food is easy and fabulous. And being so close to Central Park is glorious. I have 2 small complaints. One is that there is no one there to help you through the first days when you may have some problems. I couldn't get the internet right away, and I needed another set of sheets and some dishtowels, etc. It was very frustrating not to have a contact that I could speak to in person, and or someone in the city that I could call in case of difficulty. Michael and Cristina do a superb job of keeping in touch, either through calling or emails, but there is always a fair delay, especially if they are in Europe. I think it would be worth employing someone to be on hand in the first few days while you are settling in. And the second suggestion is that the TV blocks the beauty of the magnificent fireplace!!!! which when lit, makes the apt even more cosy. Bad feng shui, and give you a neck ache when you're watching!!! anyway, all of that said.... I would definitely come again. Its a true gem. '

Tom Humphrey from Denver, CO, usa; December 2012:
'Dear Michael and Christine, We enjoyed our stay very much. We liked the location and the vaulted ceiling in the living room. The only problem was that the people above us had a big party on Saturday night. It sounded like a lot of people, but they were just visiting--no loud music or anything. It lasted until late. Other than that, everything went great. We usually don't spend quite this much, but it's ok because we had a good time.'

Jeannie from Vancouver BC, Canada; November 2012:
'My sister-in law and myself shared the Victorian for a seven night stay. The apartment is better than expected in the pictures. Clean, elegant and having two beds worked for us. We used the great location as our base to see Central Park, the Museums, Lincoln Centre - the Opera, the Hudson River Park, the Dakota and I could go on and on. Highly recommended. Thank you to our hosts. '

Garrett Hernandez from Phoenix, AZ, USA; October 2012:
'The place was great! It was exactly as advertised and Michael and Cristina were as accommodating as they were pleasant. We were very pleased to be staying on the upper west side so close to the park and everything else that part of town has to offer. We will definitely be looking at returning and recommending these properties to others! Thanks again!'

robbi sendreov from golden, BC, canada; June 2012:
'The apartment on west 74th was absolutely wonderful. Very clean and light, well- stocked, everything worked perfectly from the wifi to the a/c.. The location is incredible. The directions to enter the apartment at check-in were perfect and easy. The option to leave baggage at the apt. after check-out was enormously helpful.The damage deposit was returned within a few days - that is fast. WE will be back.. Thank you. '

Susan Peterson from Minneapolis, USA; June 2012:
'The location is great for accessing Central Park, the subway system, good restaurants -- even Lincoln Center. While the apartment is small, it was just fine for our needs. We liked the feel of the neighborhood as we walked to Central Park, enjoyed a stop at one of the many coffee shops, or discovered another good restaurant! '

Geoffrey Simpson from Melbourne, Australia; June 2012:
'Accomodation old but clean and adequate. Would have liked some flexability with check out time. Found it a bit odd to be asked to tip the repair man for the owners. A really good location.'

David Koehler from Washington, DC, US; May 2012:
'We stayed in the apartment for 9 days in May 2012. The place was comfortable and the location was spectacular. The Fairway and Citarella were a few steps away, Lincoln Center was an easy walk and the restaurants in the immediate vicinity were all but uncountable. The WiFi worked with no trouble. The living room furniture could be improved with a small couch and an easy chair. A great choice and value for a NY apartment.'

Steve Poile from York, United Kingdom; January 2012:
'The apartment was just wonderful. Okay it's quite small but this is more than made up for by its character and location, just a block and a half from Central Park in one direction and half a block in several directions to shops, bars, restaurants and a wonderful bakery selling chocolate and walnut, raisin and oat cookies....bliss. I spent a whole month here and felt very at home. Finally, the owners were wonderfully helpful, left lots of information and recommendations for places to eat and drink in the apartment, and answered any questions promptly. Hoghly recommended!'

John Wall from Los Angeles, usa; December 2011:
'Overall, a delightful experience. The bakery on the corner, Lavein (sp?) is unbelievable, unique, and mind boggling. The apartment was wonderfully located and lovely. My only suggestion would be to figure out a little bit better way to arrange the bedroom so as to allow end tables and reading lamps. Might not be enough room. But, seriously, we loved the place and will be in contact again.'

LEONOR TOLEDO COLLADO from LAS PALMAS DE G.C., España; November 2011:
'WE REALLY ENJOY OUR HOLIDAYS. THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT, AND I REALLY FALL IN LOVE NOT ONLY WITH NYC BUT ALSO WITH YOUR APPARTMENT. THANK YOU FOR ALL. YOUR SUGGESTION WHERE SUPERBS! I WOULD VISIT YOU SOON AND I WOLUD RECOMMEND YOR SITE. BEST REGARDS FOR MICHAEL AND CHRISTINA.'

Roger Armstrong from Christchurch, New Zealand; October 2011:
'The apartment was perfect for our needs -- the pictures on the website fairly represent what is a very homely and useable space. The second bed came in handy as we struggled with jetlag-affected sleep and the location was spot on in terms of access to shops/tube/buses/park/good restaurants. '

Mike and Lexie Anderson from Brisbane, Australia; October 2011:
'We stayed for 8 nights in this apartment in late September and really enjoyed it. The whole area is lovely with plenty of local activities and good restaurants. The apartment was exactly as advertised and very clean indeed. Moving in and out was so easy. We loved the big front windows looking onto the passing parade of people. It is only a short walk to the subway at 72nd Street which makes all NYC available. At first we disliked the lack of any clothes washing machine until we discovered the wondeful chinese laundry a block away which did the lot immaculately for a dollar a pound same day service! There is a big and incredible supermarket a short walk along 74th Street which blew us away also. We would love to return to this place again some day. Many thnaks for a good experience Cristina and Michael.'

Teresa Rodriguez Montañes from Madrid, Spain; August 2011:
'The apartment is really nice. I spent a whole month with my 14-years-old daughter and we enjoyed very much. She loved staying upstairs! Great location, very near everywhere: you can walk the City or if you don´t like walking there is a subway station almost on the corner. Neigbourhood is really nice too with many good restaurants, small stores, Central Park and nice people. And last but not least, Michael and Cristina are the perfect host. They make you feel really at home.'

Cindy Tipton from Menlo Park, CA, US; May 2011:
'Really enjoyed the apartment! It was a nice escape after spending time in midtown. It was a great location to walk to Central Park and all museums. Great restaurants within walking. Easy access to subway and buses. I had hopes my 7 yr old daughter would sleep in the loft, but the ladder up was a little steep for her comfort level. After visiting a few other apts. in NY that our relatives lived in, this one is so nice to have a view out to the street to watch people walk by. Lots of light. Never used the laundry so can't comment. Little things like only one tp roll, and the bed in the loft wasn't made (where i had to sleep) when we arrived at about 2am due to storm were a bit inconvenient.'

Jon Hynes from New Orleans, USA; April 2011:
'I like the apartment very much. I spent 3 weeks and it was very comfortable, the location is perfect. I wish the cable TV had more channels, it was basic but did not have CNN. I also missed a coffee machine in the kitchen. The bed was very comfortable, the sheets and towels great quality. '

Lucy Brett from London, England; January 2011:
'The apartment was great - the beds were really comfortable and the kitchen very well-equipped. We loved going to Fairway for buying provisions (which opens at 6am!) and eating breakfast at the dining table while watching life on the street go by - the dogs and their owners were particularly fun! Many thanks!'

Gabriele from Florence, Italy; December 2010:
'We spent a fantastic week in this very beautiful apartment, it is comfortably furnished and decorated with grace, its location is ideal for visiting Manhattan. In particular, we appreciated very much the little notebook filled with suggestions for restaurants and bakeries in the neighborhood that the owners had written down for us guests.'

Brett Ledger from Brisbane, Australia; December 2010:
'We had the pleasure of spending two weeks here and it was absolutely the best thing we did. Great location, very comfortable and very quiet too. If, like us, you're concerned about arriving and you're not being 100% sure if you've done the right thing....forget it! The pictures do not lie. What you see is exactly what you get. We could not have been happier. Thank you so much Michael and Cristina, for allowing us into your lovely little home. We hope you received our gift on Brisbane. We hope to go back again and will definitely try to stay again if we can. Very highly reccommended!'

jorge helft from buenos aires, argentina; November 2010:
'We had a wonderful stay. Location could not be better. The apt. is nice specially the living room. Kitchen and bathroom comfortable & fully equipped. The bedroom is a bit narrow. We enjoyed our stay and will come back.'

Ruth Nightingale from London, UK; October 2010:
'A great apartment in a really good location. Lots of restaurants and shops around, close to the express stop and yet a pretty quiet location at night. The 'balcony' or 'music' room is quite a steep climb but really cosy once you are up there. A bit of curtain or blind to shut out the light from the highest windows would be an improvement.'

daniel DUDNIKOW from PARIS, FRANCE; August 2010:
'well located , just we were 4 and you knew that and cleaning in Mezzanine and bed weren't done !! on the video we don't watdch we can't stand up in the mezzanine so please it will be great if you write it . Except that we had a lovely stay in New York'

Michael and Xiomara Neary from San Francisco, USA; June 2010:
'We absolutely loved our stay here. Wonderful apartment, great block, close to everything yet a relatively quiet residential street. Fantastic bakery right down the street, two blocks from Fairway Market and 72nd Street train station. Nice victorian details.'

Joanne Desrosiers from Montréal, Québec. CA; June 2010:
'We have appréciate the apartment that was clean, clear, charming, located on a quiet street and area, and also the air conditionning, with the hot weather we had durint our week. We loved the proximity of food-shops and restaurants, on each end of the street and the proximity of Central Parc. What we have found less interesting, was the heat in both rooms thow we had the air conditionning on: the ventilators are not enought in the rooms and a bit noisy. I suggest that uou put a ceiling fan to send the hot air down. We also would have liked to know that the room upstair had very low ceiling what we did not saw on the video. We have and will recommanded your apartment but only for two adults alone or with children , because the low ceiling in the room upstair is not appropriate for senior adults. Joanne Desrosiers '

Jasmin Umana from Abbiategrasso Milano, Italy; May 2010:
'Great location and beautiful apartment. We'd really enjoyed our Nyc's stay being able to reach Central Park by a 5 minutes walk and just 20 minutes far from the Columbus Circle, nice restaurants and bakeries nearby. We were 4 people and it was really comfortable, hoping to get back soon to NYC, we will book again W74th.'

Renee Swinney from Florida, USA; January 2010:
'Great apartment for your Upper Westside needs! Two blocks from Steps on Broadway for any dancers out there looking for a clean, cozy place to stay while taking classes. Short walk to Lincoln Center for all ballet, opera and philharmonic enthusiasts. Also a short walk to Julliard and the School of American Ballet. We are thrilled to know this apartment is here and will use it again! It was wonderful to have a cozy fire in the beautiful fireplace, in the middle of New York City, in January! 74th is a very quiet street which is helpful for those not used to city noise when trying to sleep! We really enjoyed our stay and will be back several times a year!'

isabella gattorno from Genova, italia; December 2009:
'I spent a very nice moment in NYC and in your appartement. very confortable, well situated, well furnished and happy. thank you I'll be back very soon Isabella'

Colin Hockley from Melbourne, Australia; November 2009:
'We stayed at the apartment in October with our daughter and really enjoyed ourselves - its location in relation to the things we wanted to do and proximity to the underground etc,. The facilities in the apartment were good and clean and in the surrounding area there was everything we needed. We would recommend it to anyone. '

Morgane Le Roux from Paris, France; October 2009:
'Very nice stay. The apartment is really beautiful and well located closed to central park. It's easy to access everywhere in mannathan. Perfect for a family or friends.'

Charlotte Weber from Trier, Germany; September 2009:
'The location is just wonderful, we felt so good in the neighbourhood around 74th street. The carefully styled apartment is very well kept & is to be strongly recommended to people who want to emerge in the upper west side atmosphere. Just a detail- we would have wished more bed-clothes. Otherwise it has been an unforgetable experience! '

Maria Rita Pellegrini from Rome, Italy; September 2009:
'I spent one week in this charming apartment with my husband and 2 children. The size is fine for a family of four. The apartment is comfortable and tastefully decorated. We loved the area, very convenient and close to Central Park, with many historical Victorian houses all around. We had an excellent stay in New York. Hope to come back soon!!!'

Christian and Michelle from Little Rock, AK, ; September 2009:
'LOVED the apartment! We staid for 2 weeks and thouroughly enjoyed not only the excellent neighbourhood, but especially the beautifully furnished apartment! Thank you, for providing such a cozy home away from home!'

Rebecca Kennedy from Quakertown, PA, USA; June 2009:
'This place is darling and we had a wonderful time. Arriving couldn't have been easier, and the neighborhood is wonderful. We brought our teenagers, and they had the time of their lives shopping in the 70th street to 86th street area, and going to the museum. Parking was a hassle, but mostly because we had our huge full sized van which you can't garage. But we found on-street parking anyway. '

dvora metrany from , israel; June 2009:
'the apt is lovely- clean, comfortable, well kept.Gr8 location for whoever likes the UWS. Very good & speedy communication with Michael\Cristina. We missed some basic kitchen stuff like a soup ladel, a soup "stick" mixer,drinking glasses.... we also feel it advisable to supply guests with 2 sets of keys and not having to go and duplicate them ourselves.Also, we missed having specific instructions for the TV\DVD, and we missed not having a full range of cable TV programs accessible. Will definitely recommend the place to our friends.'

Mitch from Salt Lake City, USA; May 2009:
'Clean, comfortable apartment in a great location. Amenities are all updated. Michael, the owner, is accomodating and responsive. The only thing I'd recommend is having a coffee maker and ice cube trays available. I'd definitely stay there again.'

eduard casajuana from Barcelona, Spain; April 2009:
'We spent some days coming from Spain. The location is superb, one block and a half from Central Park and one block from some of UWSs landmarks, like Fairway and the Beacon Theatre. The apartment is clean and cozy. We had a pleasant stay and a great time. '

Shirly from Saskatoon, Canada; April 2009:
'Hi, The apartment was great! we we're two couples staying there and it was fine, we got the place very clean and the decoration is very New York style, we really had the feeling of leaving in NYC. the location is amazing, one block from Central Park, one block from Broadway, close to grocery store and the subway. We highly recommend this apartment and already offered our friends to contact Michael and Christina for their future staying in New York. '

Leah Hausman from London, UK; February 2009:
'The flat is absolutely lovely. Great atmosphere and very cozy. The bed and sheets are DIVINE. It is exactly as pictured although I think the upstairs area is actually bigger than it looked in the photos. Only 3 suggestions... the drafts coming from the windows and surrounding areas in both the living and bed rooms are ferocious. I was there in an extremely cold period so I would warn anyone going in the winter months. Second, the wireless is a bit tricky for Mac users. There must be a way to figure that one out! And last, a small problem but if someone is staying for a longer period, a little set of drawers in one of the closets would have been marvelous. Otherwise its a real gem in a great part of NYC. Food lovers heaven,lots of nice boutiques, great proximity to museums,central park and the subway. Believe the publicity. '

Carmen Marin from Lighthouse Point, FL, US; December 2008:
'The apartment was everything we needed and wanted and more!!! The location is spectacular, so central to all the needs anyone could have, subways, park, shopping, food... We truly enjoyed our stay and would love to stay there again and again...Cristina and Michael you're the best!!!'

Barbara from , Italy; November 2008:
'The apartment is really nice and the location is great. The apartment gets a lot of light. It has a beautiful fireplace. The bedroom is tiny but the bed is quite comfortable. However in the online apartment's description there was no mention about cleaning expenses which I actually had to pay when I made my deposit. That was not a good surprise. I also think $80 is a quite expensive amount for cleaning considering it was a quite small apartment and we stayed there only for 2 days. Additionally, we had to pay an extra $30 since we left the apartment late (around 1 hour and 30 minutes) because we misunderstood the departure time. That was our fault therefore we have nothing to complain about that.'

marc blumenthal from london, uk; November 2008:
'all very good, nice space and great area only problem i had was the hot water in the shower, was not hot on one occasion, i had to have a cold shower, which was not pleasant; professional service, thanks'

Dina Adham from Los Angeles, CA, USA; November 2008:
'This apartment was absolutely great! Very clean, comfortable and in a great location. Check-in was a breeze and my cleaning deposit was promptly refunded. I would definitely stay here again.'

Roberto Garrastazu from Santande, Spain; November 2008:
'Hi Friends We were 4 people in this apartment for 7 days in October. The experience has been so fine. We have been comfortable. The area near Central Park in the upper west side less than 5 min. walk, 2 subway lines. The neighborhood is quiet, but with restaurants and shops open until very late. In short, a perfect place from where you know Manhattan. The house was exactly as in the video. Michael total of confidence, took us details (fruit, water ,...) and return if possible. Next year lets go to Sesimbra A greeting'

Blane Walker from Sacramento,CA, USA; October 2008:
'We enjoyed the apartment very much! The only dissatisfactions would be that there was neither extra toilet paper rolls nor where there any paper towels. We also didn't recieve the wireless internet network key with our check in. We did however recieve it on Friday, the day before we checked out. Overall it was a great location and we had a wonderful time!'

Clark Collins from Laguna Beach, CA, USA; September 2008:
'Nice little apartment just a couple of blocks off Central Park. We had a wonderful stay! Everthing was clean. The building was quiet. I would definitely stay there again!'

NYC ApartmentStatue of LibertyTimes SquareThe Brooklyn BridgeRockefeller CenterCentral ParkEmpire State Building NYCMetropolitan OperaMuseums